Close this search box.

New Board for property industry announced

MAIN IMAGE: Minister Mmamoloko Tryphosa Kubayi-Ngubane, Minister of Human Settlements; Vuyiswa Ramokgopa, chairperson of the National Property Practitioners Council (NPPC)

Cabinet on Wednesday approved and Minister Mmamoloko Tryphosa Kubayi-Ngubane, Minister of Human Settlements, announced the new Board of the Property Practitioners Regulatory Authority “PPRA”, which is to replace the Estate Agency Affairs Board (EAAB) as soon as the PPRA Regulations are finalised. The new Act repeals the Estate Agency Affairs Act, No 112 of 1976 (“EAA Act”) in its entirety.

The EAAB was established in 1976 in terms of the Estate Agency Affairs Act, 112 of 1976 (“the Act”), with the mandate to regulate and control certain activities of estate agents in the public interest.

The EAAB regulates the estate agency profession by ensuring that all persons carrying out the activities of an estate agent as a service to the public are registered with the EAAB. A fidelity fund certificate “FFC”, which is to be renewed each year (soon to be every three years), is issued as evidence of such registration and confirmation that such person is legally entitled to carry out the activities of an estate agent.

Over the past few years, the EAAB has come under severe criticism by the industry and estate agents due to large scale incompetency to manage and operate several issues. Included in this is the issuing of FFCs, CPD and the examination system which have caused major headaches for estate agents over the past year.

Says Vuyiswa Ramokgopa, chairperson of the National Property Practitioners Council (NPPC), “The NPPC congratulates the new board of the PPRA on their appointment and in particular the new Chairperson, Mr Steven Ngubeni.

“The task of aligning the real estate sector under the new PP Act is no small feat and will require a collaborative approach between all stakeholders.

“We look forward to continuing to work closely with the regulator to advance and professionalise the real estate sector through effective education and training, accelerate transformation and facilitate the effective implementation and adoption of the new regulations.”

All appointments of the board members are subject to the verification of qualifications and the relevant clearance.

The new Board of Directors of the PPRA are:

  • Mr Steven Piet Ngubeni (Chairperson)

Ngubeni is the CE and founder at Ntshuvuko Planners and Valuers (PTY) Ltd and CEO of the Gauteng Gambling Board

  • Ms Pamela Nonkululeko Makhubela

Makhubela is a practicing Attorney and Conveyancer based at the Illovo branch of STBB.

She obtained her Bachelor of Laws from the University of South Africa. While working in the Property Valuations industry as an Assistant to a Municipal Valuer she was motivated to pursue a National Diploma in Real Estate at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology, which she graduated in 2017.

She is a qualified Professional Associate Valuer registered with the South African Council for the Property Valuers Profession (SACPVP).

In September 2019 she was appointed to serve on the committee of The Cape Town Candidate Attorney Association (CTCAA) as the Deputy Chairperson.

  • Adv Mxolisi Sphamandla Nene

Nene completed his articles and practiced as an attorney with Adams and Adams (Pretoria) where he acted for clients on various Intellectual Property and Entertainment Law matters.

He has a general litigation and advice practice with a primary focus on issues involving general Commercial Law, Administrative, Intellectual Property Law, Insurance Law, Competition Law and Labour Law. Mxolisi has been selected as Destiny Man Magazine’s 40 under 40 young influencers in the business world.

  • Mr Terry Kevin Johnson

Johnson is an accountant by profession for over 25 years. He is the Group Financial Manager at Labat Africa Ltd (a JSE listed entity). He has extensive experience in the PFMA environment, complemented by similar engagements in countries to the likes of Malawi, Uganda, Zambia.

His knowledge and experience also includes occuping  management and financial accounting roles in  roperty related companies which includes SA Housing Trust, Kayalethu Home Loans,  New Wave Development, and the NHBRC. His involvement in various other entities also include the likes of Arivia.kom (Face Technologies) in the SA driving licences, ABSA Allpay smart cards, e-Natis, etc.

  • Ms Thato Ramaili

Ramaili is Founder and Director at Loara Realty. She graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Accounting from The Charles W. Lamden School of Accountancy, San Diego State University, USA. She lived and worked in corporate America for almost a decade and a half, where she practiced in Public Accounting, Financial Services, Government Contracting and Law. She relocated back to South Africa in March 2014 to head up a finance start-up team that would build the ever first Iveco Plant in Southern Africa, which is located and fully operating in Rosslyn, Pretoria.

  • Me Thokozani Radebe

Radebe is an Attorney, Conveyancer, Notary Public, Fiduciary Specialist, Speaker and Property Investor.

She has a bachelor’s degree in Social Science and Law, as well as a Master’s in financial planning law. She is a board member of Durban Child and Youth Care Centre. Thokozani is currently employed at one of the leading financial service providers.

  • Ms Thuthuka Siphumezile Songelwa

Songelwa is Managing Member of BNTS Consulting Services, Eastern Cape Department of Human Settlements Project Manager, and a Board Member of the Construction Industry Development Board.

Songelwa has over 15 years of experience in the building environment with record service on both small and mega projects in both the public and private. She is a registered professional, founder and managing member of BNTS Consulting Services, which is a multi-disciplinary built environment firm. She holds a B-Tech Quantity Surveying and MSc Project Management.

  • Mr Shaheed Peters

Peters is Executive Managing Director of SP Wealth Management, a Board Member SSETA and Deputy Chair of the South Cape TVET College.

  • Ms Nokulunga Makopo

Makopo is an Advocate. She was an Acting Judge from January 2014 to February 2014 (2 months)

  • Ms Pamela Beatrice Snyman.

Snyman serves on several boards and was a member of the ministerial task-team to re-capacitate the Services Seta. She currently serves on the board of the SSETA as well as on their Remco, Governance Risk & Strategy Committee, Transformation Committee and Audit Committee and chairs the Real Estate and Related Services Chamber that represents all the real estate organisations in the country. She is also a member of the Property Charter Council, the Property Charter Board and its Exco and serves on the Board of the Institute of Estate Agents of SA (IEASA) in the Western Cape.

  • Ms Veruska Gilbert

Gilbert is the representative from the Department of Trade, Industry and Competition on the Board.

Share this article:

more top news stories

Sakeliga is taking the PRRA to court over BEE

Sakeliga is taking the PPRA to court over BEE

As the PPRA adheres to its newfound stance that BEE certificates need to be both compliant and valid, Sakeliga has announced its intention to sue the Authority. Join their upcoming webinar to learn more.

RE/MAX SA rakes in awards

RE/MAX SA rakes in awards

The year has been filled with achievements for RE/MAX of Southern Africa. The brand has claimed numerous awards since the beginning of the year and is nominated to win more in the months to come.